Superlegalization means verification of a public document (or a document, which has already been officially verified by an apostille) by the administrative authority for the possibility of its use abroad. It is also referred to as higher document verification. 

The actual process of superlegalization is that the document is successively verified by:

  • The central state administration body, superior to the authority that issued the document.
  • The competent superior authority of the state administration of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic.
  • The diplomatic or consular office of the state in which it will be used.

Superlegalization is not necessary when authenticating documents to states participating in the Convention on Abolishing the Requirement of Legalisation for Foreign Public Documents (dated 5th October 1961). In such a case, superlegalization is replaced by an Apostille, a special clause proving signature verification, and by a stamp on the document for the purpose of its use in another state.

The number of signatories of the Convention exceeds one hundred, but there are still countries in the world where a simple apostille is not sufficient. You need legalization for the following countries:


Algeria, Afghanistan, Angola, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon,Canada, Congo,  Costa Rica, Cuba, Denmark, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Chad, Chile, China,   Indonesia, IraqIranItaly, Jamaica, Jordan, Qatar, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines,  Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, SingaporeSlovakia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.